National Commission for Minorities

Posted on June 12, 2013 by


WHERE: New Delhi

ABOUT:The Union Government set up the National Commission for Minorities (NCM) under the National Commission for Minorities Act, 1992. Five   religious   communities,   viz; Muslims,   Christians, Sikhs,  Buddhists and  Zoroastrians (Parsis)   have   been   notified   as   minority  communities by the Union Government. The Commisson  has  one  Chairperson,  one Vice Chairperson  and  five  Members represented five minority communities. At present the  Chairperson is Sh. Wajahat Habibullah. Dr. H. T. Sangliana is the Vice Chairperson,  Smt. Saeeda Imam , K. N. Daruwalla and Sh. Vinod Sharma are the present Members. The post of two of the Members is vacant.

Andhra Pradesh , Assam , Bihar, Chattisgarh, Delhi , Jharkhand, Karnataka, Maharashtra, Madhya Pradesh, Manipur, Rajasthan, Tamil Nadu, Uttarakhand, Uttar Pradesh and West Bengal have also set up State Minorities Commissions in their respective States.  Their offices are located in the State capitals.  The functions of these Commissions, inter-alia, are to safeguard and protect the interests of minorities provided in the Constitution and laws enacted by Parliament and the State Legislatures.

National Commission for Minorities,
5th Floor,
Lok Nayak Bhavan,
Khan Market,
New Delhi 110 003
Tel. 24615583
Fax 24693302, 24642645, 24698410

Toll Free Number: 1800110088